It's not enough to make technical changes and develop content to be SEO-ready. Keep up-to-date with the changes made, ensure compliance with the algorithm, determine how your metrics are affected by the changes, and establish a KPI in line with your growth goals.
KPIs tell the source of the problem or provide insights into growth opportunities, so they are an essential part of your SEO strategy for tracking growth. For example, if you want to increase page loading speed but do not track this metric, you cannot know if it is good or bad. As a result, KPIs are used to determine whether the goal has been met and then determine the speed-enhancing factors.
Is my SEO strategy going the way I planned? How much of this goal will I be able to achieve by the end of the month? What should be my goal next month?
By tracking the right performance metrics, you’ll be able to answer all these questions.
Basically, a session refers to a group of interactions between a user and your website that occurs within a specified time.
You can track the traffic generated by the customers who come to your site organically from the search engine searches on your site with Organic Session. Your session goal can be tracked as overall site traffic, or you can also specify only the traffic you receive on a landing page in a query custom.On your product category pages, you can set a different goal than your website goal, which can be a good way to track what types of products your customers are interested in.
2)Organic Users and New Users
If you're in the business of increasing brand awareness, what you need to follow should be the number of organic users instead of the session. A single user may have created more than one session. If you want to track your customers coming to the site, you need to set a target for the number of Organic users. With these metrics, you can determine if a strategy is working and guide your development accordingly.
During the current month, check how many unique visitors come from organic traffic. By using this information, you can discover whether your website is doing a good job of pulling in new and unique visitors or if you’re merely generating repeat visitors.
3)Keyword Ranking Increases and Decreases
Among the keywords that you have enhanced, your ranking may have increased due to your improvements. Considering this will show you the direction of your potential customers' demand as well as the quality of your pages, according to Google.
Your site ranking may increase in the search results when you notice that you have keywords that increase in search volume seasonally and that quality traffic is coming from these keywords. In this case, you may have found something that'll help increase brand awareness and conversions.
Your brand name or highly targeted long-tail keywords specific to your location and business will naturally rank highly for you. Other terms will be part of a long-term strategy to gain visibility for high-impact, competitive terms.
Keeping an eye on keywords dropping in the ranking is just as important as those that are rising. In search results, the keywords that dropped rank are your potential customers prefer to your competitors. Become competitive and start by aiming to be in the first rank.
You can track keyword rankings on heybooster.
The bounce rate is the percentage of all sessions on your site in which users viewed only one page and sent only one request to Analytics. The session duration for these single-page sessions is 0 seconds because no more hits would allow Analytics to figure out the session length.
Bounce rate is an important KPI because a huge priority for search engine algorithms is satisfying the user's search query. By assessing this metric, we can determine whether a user is satisfied with the search term they entered on your site and whether your landing pages performed well in search results.
A user searches a keyword, and Google wants to give them the most relevant and highest quality results relevant to their search.
If users return to the search results page, then the landing page was either not relevant, was challenging to navigate, or did not trust. That's why this page has a high bounce rate. On the other hand, Google will reduce the ranking of your landing page among the search results by looking at this behavior of users.
Keeping the bounce rate metric for relevant keywords as low as possible will help you rank higher in search results.
There must be a purpose to attract so many users to the site. This purpose may be to make sales, or it may just be to market your blog content. In any case, SEO does not stop attracting traffic to the site. You have to end this traffic with a conversion.
A conversion can be defined as any action a visitor takes that moves them to the next step in the customer journey. For example, a visitor can convert into a lead by filling out a form to get more information about your offering, and a lead can convert into a buyer by making a purchase.
Conversion is not just about sales. It may also be any lead you want to follow. It allows you to develop a strategy by understanding the customer's behavior visiting your site by following actions such as;
- Form completions
- Landing page visits
- Add To Cart
If you set up goals and events in Google Analytics, you can track leads across any variety.
Taking correct call-to-actions and attracting a large number of users does not guarantee a conversion. You can generate a lot of traffic, but you should target the right audience with quality landing pages to convert as many users as possible if your goal is conversions.
By recognizing potential customers coming to your landing pages, you can reach your targeted conversion.
When we talk about organic visibility, it's different than the organic session because it's about how many times your brand is listed in the search results when users begin searching for it.
If your brand visibility is high, but your session is not high, there will be situations where you need to take action. For example, if you haven't done metadata optimization yet, nobody wants to enter a site with no description on the search listing page.
In this case, the metrics say you need optimization. If you read your KPIs with the right metrics, it will tell you everything as a recipe.
Basically, it's how many people clicked a link against the number of people who could have clicked it. As an example, consider that when someone sees a listing for your website on a search engine results page (SERP), and 20% of them click the link, your CTR is 20%.
It is more likely that users will not click on your site if your ranking in the search results is low. If you want a high CTR, you should also aim for the top position.
8)Organic Conversion Rate
To calculate conversion rates, simply divide the number of conversions by the number of total ad interactions that can be tracked during the same period. For example, if you had 50 conversions from 1,000 interactions, your conversion rate would be 5%, since 50 ÷ 1,000 = 5%.
Another way to understand the quality of the traffic coming from organic channels to the site is to look at the conversion rate metric. If your traffic to the site is high, but you can't get the conversion you expect, you can track which queries you get traffic from, and if you think that the conversion rate of your users coming to the site from these queries is decreasing, it may not be a good way to improve the conversion rate. In this case, you can consider redirecting your users from this query to another landing page where you can get conversions.
If you haven't been able to set your goal for conversion rate and need a benchmark, the overall conversion rate breakdown by page can help you.
An also you can track the organic conversion rate on heybooster:
No matter how well your site ranks for specific keywords, the ultimate goal is to boost sales and generate revenue. Even the most visible site isn't valuable from a marketing perspective if it doesn't accomplish that.
Businesses need organic traffic to generate revenue online, and your revenue defines success in your business in a sense. Improvements in metrics such as ranking on search results, the number of users coming to your site, traffic on the site, and time to stay on the site increase revenue and conversion.
However, that can be easier said than done. Generating revenue online requires ongoing research of keywords, customer demographics, and competitors. It also requires the constant questioning of "what else can be done?"
When you cannot reach your organic revenue target, this issue can be related to the customer journey and ROI optimization steps. Heybooster's solution suggestions can help you achieve your goal.
10)Page Load Time
Page speed refers to the speed at which a particular page on your website loads. Due to different factors like images and scripts, different pages can perform differently.
Since Google's algorithm speed update, page speed has become a direct ranking factor. By raising bounce rates, speed can also impact rankings indirectly.In the case of slow-loading sites, you are losing more value. Over half of your customers will leave your site if it takes more than three seconds to load. User behavior and page speed are closely related that Google uses page speed as both a desktop and mobile ranking signal.
- LCP (largest contentful paint): How long it takes the page to render the largest visible element.
- FID (first input delay): How long it takes the page to start responding to user actions
- CLS (cumulative layout shift): How much the page UI shifts during page loading.
- Speed Index is the average time at which visible parts of the page are displayed. It is expressed in milliseconds and dependent on size of the view port.
Improvements have been made to the page, and you are waiting for the page speed to improve. Heybooster will work as your assistant for this follow-up and will assist and warn you.
Ready to Start Tracking SEO KPI s for Powerful Outcomes?
As you are aware of which metrics are linked to your SEO goals, you can begin making changes to your site and making strategy adjustments in order to improve conversions and generate more revenue and traffic for your business.
Our goal is simple: save time and work it more effectively by tracking, analyzing, detecting with heybooster. Whenever you need to discuss KPIs to improve your business across more channels, our experts are ready to help you.